The HK Prize – Five Hong Kongers Refusing to Accept the New National Security Law

The hk prize is one of Asia’s premier awards, with thousands of applicants each year. It recognizes scientific research that contributes to societal benefit and gives winners access to Hong Kong’s premier research facilities. It also encourages international cooperation and high standards of moral integrity. Its symbol, expressed both in the award logo and on trophies conferred to winners, juxtaposes two precious elements – a pearl and a jade amulet with holes pierced through them – that have happy connotations in Chinese and Western cultures.

The Hong Kong Prize Board is responsible for the overall management of THE PRIZE, including but not limited to: setting the Review Committee and Compliance Oversight Team; deciding which scientific fields will be reviewed and by whom; suggesting scholars who may be eligible for THE PRIZE; reviewing the final reviews; and verifying and approving THE PRIZE results. It is also the highest decision-making body of the Prize, and its decisions are final.

In addition to monetary prizes, winners of HK Prize will be invited to take part in seminars or research internships at Hong Kong universities and laboratories. This will give them an opportunity to build professional ties with scientists here, and learn cutting-edge scientific research from the people who work on it. In this way, they can take advantage of Hong Kong’s unique position as a bridge between Chinese and Western science.

This is just the latest in a series of international accolades that Hong Kong film and television has garnered in recent years. Last year, Xiao Zhu won best actress for her role in coming-of-age drama To My Nineteen-Year Old Self and Jackson Yee earned recognition for his performance as a selfless teacher in China-set bully drama Better Days. Meanwhile, the late Benny Chan won best director for his cops-and-robbers action flick Raging Fire at the 61st Hong Kong Film Awards.

Despite their different backgrounds, these five people have been able to unite themselves in their determination to stand up for human rights and freedom. They are representative of hundreds, if not thousands, of Hong Kongers who have refused to accept the crushing of civil society and affront to human dignity that the new National Security Law has brought upon our city.

Their struggle is now being recognized at the highest level, with 15 distinguished academics from 10 countries nominating them for the 2022 Nobel Peace Prize. The professors hope that this move will highlight the courage of these Hong Kongers in their struggle for democracy, and call on the Nobel Prize committee to honor them by awarding them this prestigious award. If you would like to help support their cause, click here for more information on how you can do so. Your generosity will go a long way in bringing these heroes’ story to the world. Thank you!